Camilla's Story

Gooday my name is Camilla and I am from Muralug Beach, Prince of Wales Island in the Torres Strait

I live with my mum and dad.  We live very close to the beach where I like to go for walks and fishing. There are no shops or facilities on Prince of Wales (POW) so we have to travel to Thursday Is. in our dinghy or the School Boat, where we do our shopping and other business.
I like travelling in our dinghy as I am responsible for pulling up the anchor and helping to tie up when we reach the pontoon at TI. Life on the island is very relaxed and laid back with plenty of fresh seafood to enjoy all year round.
I have relations on the island and always have time to spend with Aunties and Cousins to do all sorts of activities. I used to live in Bowen where my Mother was a Nurse and Dad a Train Driver but we didn’t have any relations living close by so I missed out on the island lifestyle and Family connections.
I receive funding from DSQ for an Individual Support Plan that allows me to attend Port Kennedy Assoc. who provide assistance with lifestyle skills. I liked being with Margaret when she worked there as she liked playing her ukulele and singing plus she knew a great deal about weaving. It would be really good if we had a designated area where we could do some cooking plus other activities.
I have two dogs, they are Jack Russells and their names are Moulon and Sarup. I am responsible for feeding them and making sure they have clean water. I used to be scared of dogs previously but now have so much fun time with them when we play and go for walks.
I have been attending NDIS sessions on Thursday Is. and have a colourful Plan for my Life that paints a bright future for my role in the community and me as an individual.

© 2016 | ATSIDNQ | 

Disclaimer | Privacy |

 Digital Marketing Agency iFactory TOP